The Evaran Chronicles Box Set: Books 1-3 Audiobook Review

“The Evaran Chronicles Box Set: Books 1-3”, written by Adair Hart and narrated by Michael Pauley, contains three of the four currently released books in the Evaran Chronicles series.   The three books in this set could be read as standalone stories. However, they are much better if one reads them in sequence as each book plays off the others.  There is also a very good prequel available which I would highly recommend because it adds additional content to the series.   I was very happy I read it first.  As others stated in their reviews, the series is a blending of Star Trek, Dr. Who (mainly), The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, and Quantum Leap; which in my opinion is not a bad thing.  If you have enjoyed any of these type of shows, I believe you will like this rather lengthy series consisting of ~707 pages or just shy of 26 hours of audio.

The books could be classified as a lighter science fiction space/time travel opera.  The stories take the reader on a rollercoaster ride of action, adventure, emotional highs and lows, along with several strange worlds.  Even though the books are like others in the science fiction genre, the author does a fabulous job of creating unique and interesting worlds and creatures that inhabit them.  We also are introduced to some new ships and technology not seen in other books of its type.  Evaran, like in the prequel, is a selfless creature doing what he can to protect the innocent from those that would desire to do them harm.  He is soft spoken, but as with Dr. Who, nearly every creature in the multiverse fears being on his bad side.

At times the book can be confusing due to the element of time travel, but the author does a decent job of keeping the reader engaged so this is less an issue than with other books.  I also like that the author included both a prologue and epilogue for each of the books helping tie the series together.  I found the updates given to ‘V’ over time an interesting part of the story as one would think that a time traveler would have already included those functions from the start; but I liked the additions.  I thought the use of nanobots and how they were used along with their effects refreshing; and even more interesting is how some of the book’s characters embraced them.

I enjoyed the subtle audio enhancements added to the books like introduction music at each chapter, some lighter injected sound effects, and computerized voice of the robot; V.  The narrator did an exceptional job of differentiating the book’s various characters which can be difficult for such an extensive set of books.  The audio was clean as I did not notice any artifacts while listening; no swallows, no volume issues, no page turns, etc.  Michael Pauley is no veteran to audiobook narration with over 215 books at the time of this review, and he does a fantastic job with this series as well.

I would highly caution young readers as each of the books contain vulgar language that may not be appropriate for all ages.  There are some scenes containing more adult humor and sexual subjects involving aliens and a few innuendoes.  The strong language is rather consistent throughout the books, but the sexual content is not as prevalent or in one’s face.

After listening to the prequel and the first three books in the series, I will be listening to the fourth book, along with any others in the series as they become available, because they are well-written and narrated books that nearly anyone could pick up and enjoy.  I wish the author had used less vulgarity as I could see the series being enjoyed by a younger audience if this were the case.

Disclaimer: I was voluntarily provided this review copy audiobook at no charge by the author, publisher and/or narrator.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s